I just got the call today that Pasadena City College’s Community Education program accepted my proposal to teach a class in Danish cord weaving.  The tentative schedule is Saturdays from 10:00 A.M. to 12:00 P.M. this September 24 through October 15.  Once the catalog comes out I’ll post more information.

So if you have a chair with a Danish cord seat like the one Charlie’s sitting on now is the time to learn to weave it yourself!

 

6 Responses to “Danish Cord Weaving Class”

  1. Bev

    Hi David-
    I was so excited to see your website. I have been looking for years to find out how to repair my Danish teak chairs that look exactly like the ones you have in the picture where you are taking a break. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw that you repaired them, and you were teaching a class. I would love to attend your class if you are still offering it. I have 3 chairs that need repair and I am willing to learn how.

    • sidecarfurniture

      Hi Bev,

      The class has already happened but I do plan on teaching more classes although none are scheduled right now. The next one at PCC will be in the rush pattern and will most likely be this spring or summer. The book I learned from has excellent instructions on how to weave a cord seat, The Caner’s Handbook by Jim Widess.

      My one tip for doing your first seat is to leave the others intact so you have a reference of what the finished seat will look like.

      Good luck and if you have any questions please ask.

      David

      • Ben Shapiro

        Any chance you will be teaching a class soon in the Los Angeles or Pasadena area soon?

  2. Kristin

    Hi David,
    I would have loved to take this class, but I live in Central Minnesota. Can you recommend anyone out here who might be able to teach me this technique? I am an upholsterer and am lucky enough to have been given 6 Hans Wegner kitchen chairs. My mother-in-law had them re-woven before she gave them to us, but that was 20 years ago. The seats are worn out and so is her memory! So I can’t ask her for advice.

    Thanks,
    Kristin

    • sidecarfurniture

      Hi Kristen,

      I just checked on the Seat Weaver’s Guild site and found this listing of weavers in Minnesota. Hopefully someone is near you and can help.

      Otherwise, you can buy the book and teach yourself which is how I learned. I like The Caner’s Handbook by Jim Widess. You can also order all of the materials from his shop as well.

      Good luck!

      David

Comments are closed.

